Work with us
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Island Park chamber nominates three for local CRZ committee
Christina Daly/Herald
Michael Scully, left and Glenn Ingoglia, right from the Island Park Chamber of Commerce at a summer Sandy recovery event. The two men have been recommended as members of the local CRZ committee now being formed by the state.

At the request of Laura Munafo, the Nassau County coordinator for the state’s Community Reconstruction Zones program, the Island Park chamber of commerce on August 28 recommended three of its members to be seated on the local committee.

As part of the “ground up” process that Gov. Andrew Cuomo mandated for the program, local organizations in each of the four communities — Oceanside, Island Park, Harbor Isle and Barnum Island — have been asked to make membership recommendations. Those organizations included chambers of commerce, civic associations, fire departments and the like, officials say.

The three men recommended to the committee by the Island Park chamber of commerce are:

Michael Scully, 51, a realtor who has lived in Island Park for his entire life and has a successful business there. Scully, who is a chamber vice president, said, “My wealth of knowledge about this community and my community activism would be very valuable to the planning committee;”

Todd Yovino, 45, an Oceanside resident who owns a realty company in Island Park. Yovino said, “I feel that I can contribute my knowledge of how to make the most of the money allocated to our community so that it will pay dividends and profits for the community in the years going forward;”

And Glenn Ingoglia, 44, an attorney and chamber president who has lived his entire life in Island Park. Ingoglia said, “I feel that my knowledge of this community and the deficits in our infrastructure and commerce will be a helpful addition to the planning committee.”

According to guidelines promulgated by the state, each local committee will have approximately 9-15 members. Those members, the guidelines say, should be planning experts, zoning experts, economic development experts, representatives of commercial, environmental, housing and human services organizations, transportation experts, representatives of vulnerable populations, emergency management personnel and public works experts.

Members of the committees will not be paid, and will have to follow a detailed code of ethics, the guidelines say.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Terms of Use | Advertising | Careers | Contact Us | Community Links © 2016 Richner Communications, Inc.