Work with us
Mostly Cloudy,65°
Saturday, May 28, 2016
Cuomo grants tax extensions for certain school districts
Extensions only grated for districts that independently requested it
David Weingrad

Gov. Andrew Cuomo recently issued an Executive Order to extend tax deadlines for school districts that independently requested it.

Residents of the Bellmore, East Meadow, Freeport, Hempstead, Hewlett-Woodmere, Island Trees, Levittown, Long Beach, North Bellmore, North Merrick, Oceanside, Seaford, Uniondale, Wantagh, Westbury and West Hempstead School Districts now have until Tuesday, Dec. 4 to pay their school taxes.

According to the Town of Hempstead, the governor issues a separate Executive Order on Nov. 13, granting extensions to the residents of the Lawrence Union Free School District, Franklin Square Union Free School District, New Hyde Park-Garden City Park Union Free School District, Malverne Union Free School District, Floral Park-Bellerose Union Free School District, Elmont Union Free School District, Lynbrook Union Free School District, Valley Stream Union Free School District 24, Valley Stream Union Free School District 13, Valley Stream Union Free School District 30, Baldwin Union Free School District, Garden City Union Free School District, Rockville Centre Union Free School District, Island Park Union Free School District.

Residents of all the districts listed above have until Dec. 4 to pay their school taxes. Residents of all other districts in the Town of Hempstead must have made their payments by Tuesday, Nov. 13 to avoid a penalty.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Terms of Use | Advertising | Careers | Contact Us | Community Links © 2016 Richner Communications, Inc.