Five Towns village election results

Edelman wins re-election in Lawrence, incumbent trustees are re-elected


In Lawrence, counting of the ballots was delayed by one hour and 46 minutes as 10 residents learned they were not on the voter rolls and had the village send faxed appeals to a county judge. Approval came for all 10 residents, but at least three left before the judge ruled.

Mayor Alex Edelman defeated Deputy Mayor Michael Fragin 848 to 749. Incumbent Trustees Syma Diamond (1,224) and Uri Kaufman (981) defeated a challenge from Stanley Kopilow (422).

"I'm excited and looking forward to working with the board and getting a lot of projects done," Edelman said.

Incumbent Atlantic Beach Trustees Linda Baessler and Edward Sullivan won re-election with 231 and 210 votes, respectively, Challenger Kevin Kelley garnered 80. Mayor George Pappas running unopposed tallied 237 and there were two write-ins.

Hewlett Harbor incumbent Trustees Tom Cohen with 250 and Kenneth Kornblau with 244 votes, won re-lection, Challenger John Novello received 210. Mayor Mark Weiss running unopposed collected 283 votes.

In Hewlett Bay Park, Mayor Steven Kaufman and Trustees Joel Schinder and Gail Rubel and Village Justice Stephanie Kaufman all won re-election with 10 votes each.

Ross Epstein, mayor of Hewlett Neck, and incumbent Trustees Steven Hochberg and Aron Schnell also gained re-election with 35 votes each. Mitchell Dix collected 33 votes as he ran unchallenged for the newly created Village Justice post.

Woodsburgh Trustees Carl Cayne (25) and Barry Platnick (26), gained their eighth and third terms, respectively.

All terms are two years.