Work with us
Saturday, May 28, 2016
Hewitt shows support for Newtown students
Courtesy Rockville Centre Schools
Top row, from left, are Student Council advisor Rachel Vyskocil, third grade teacher Jessica DiBrita, Senator Dean Skelos, Principal Liz Pryke and co-advisor Abby Wade. Middle row, from left, are Colin Sim, Secretary Erin O’Sullivan, Kaitlin O’Sullivan and Treasurer Charlie Ford. And in the front row, from left, is Timmy Warner, Vice President Skylar DeLuca, President Molly Ferazani, Mary O’Sullivan and Sydney Rathjen.

Kindergarteners at Hewitt learned first hand what it means to reach out and support others in need. Concerned kindergarten parent Sue DeLuca suggested that Hewitt join the national effort, initiated by the Connecticut Parent Teacher Student Association, to help welcome the students of the Newtown tragedy back into their new school. Under the direction of teaching assistant Anita Roseman, Hewitt’s youngest made beautiful snowflakes to help create a cheerful winter wonderland at the new Sandy Hook Elementary School. As Principal Liz Pryke said, “It was a great way for our students to show their peers in Connecticut that they are not alone.”


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Terms of Use | Advertising | Careers | Contact Us | Community Links © 2016 Richner Communications, Inc.