Work with us
Partly Cloudy,68°
Saturday, May 28, 2016
FEMA to provide emergency assistance for homeowners
(Page 2 of 2)

Only residents in the federally-declared counties, which include Nassau and Suffolk, are eligible to participate in the STEP program. Homeowners in these localities who want to apply for assistance should contact their county or local officials to receive contractor support. Homeowners must be registered with FEMA, which they can do by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). State and local governments are eligible applicants for direct federal assistance and reimbursement of eligible costs under the STEP program. 

“When Hurricane Sandy hit our state, New Yorkers saw their homes severely damaged or completely destroyed,” said Cuomo. “Now it is time to restore and rebuild these homes, and help people get back in their homes in time for winter. The FEMA assistance will make a big difference as we continue New York’s long-term recovery. I thank FEMA for their continued partnership during this difficult time.”


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Terms of Use | Advertising | Careers | Contact Us | Community Links © 2016 Richner Communications, Inc.