Work with us
Mostly Cloudy,70°
Monday, May 30, 2016
Youth Sports
Baseball League celebrates its stars
Andrew Hackmack/Herald
League Vice PResident Richard Graves puts out the cakes to celebrate a successful baseball season.

It was an exciting night for a few dozen local youth baseball players who got to enjoy a free dinner and take home trophies, as well.

The Valley Stream Baseball League hosted its annual awards dinner last Saturday night at the VFW Hall on Merrick. The league’s three championship teams were recognized along with two outstanding players.

The Yankees, coached by Brian Cohen, were the winners of the Rookie Division. The Cubs, led by Nelson Martinez, were champions of the David Wright Division and the Marlins captured their second straight Derek Jeter Division title. Marlins coach Matt Roth led his team to an undefeated season, winning all 15 games.

The Player of the Year from the Wright Division was Thomas Marten of the Rays. His coach, Jamie Lewin, noted that Marten exemplified leadership, dedication and heart, and was the unanimous choice for the award among all coaches.

Nicholas Hernandez of the championship Marlins was the top player from the Jeter Division. Roth cited Hernandez’s exception baseball skills, ability to play almost every position, and leadership on and off the field.

Registration is already under way for the league’s 2013 season. Next year, it will be partnering with the Valbrook Baseball Camp to offer special rates for players who participate in both organizations. The league is also introducing wood bat baseball next year.


1 comment on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

I am Bob Kraft. I grew up in Valley Stream on Teneyck St. Went to Blessed Sacrament School and was on two Championship baseball teams with the Blessed Sacrament Blue Jays('58 & '60). Caoch was O'Neill and our star pitcher was Bill Hogarty. The name of the team before the Blue Jays was the B S Knights. Everytime we won(which was alot) we were treated to Carvel ice cream from the store on Merrick Rd near Fletcher Ave.

Would love to hear from any old teammates from that era

Saturday, September 22, 2012 | Report this
Terms of Use | Advertising | Careers | Contact Us | Community Links © 2016 Richner Communications, Inc.