New York State Sen. Charles Fuschillo Jr., a Republican from Merrick, recently announced new state regulations that will help keep individuals who repeatedly drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs off the road.
Previously, drivers convicted of multiple alcohol- or drug-related offenses could not permanently lose their licenses unless they were involved in two DUI crashes that resulted in injury or death. While a driver with three or more intoxicated driving convictions within four years, or four or more within eight years, faced “permanent” license revocation, they could apply to get their licenses back after five years. That will change under the new regulations.
“Someone with six or seven DWI convictions should not legally be allowed to drive with a license in New York state, but right now that’s exactly what is happening. Driving is a privilege, not a right, and if you repeatedly endanger innocent lives by driving under the influence, then you shouldn’t be allowed on the road. These new regulations will give the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles greater ability to prevent these dangerous drivers from getting licenses that they don’t deserve,” said Fuschillo, who is chairman of the Senate’s Transportation Committee. Fuschillo sponsored similar legislation in the Senate, which would ensure that persistent drunk driving offenders have their driver’s licenses revoked for good.
Under the new regulations, which are already in effect, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will review the lifetime record of all drivers who apply to have their licenses reinstated after a revocation.
The DMV will deny any application for license reinstatement if the applicant has five or more alcohol- or drug-related convictions, or three or more alcohol- or drug-related driving convictions in the last 25 years, plus at least one other serious driving offense during that period. Serious driving offenses include a fatal crash, a driving-related penal law conviction, an accumulation of 20 or more points assessed for driving violations within the last 25 years, or having two or more driving convictions, each worth five points or higher.