Ringing in a new year of business with the Merrick Chamber of Commerce


The Merrick Chamber of Commerce kicked off a new year of business and community connections at its 2023 Installation Dinner last week. At a special ceremony held at Mio Pisto, an Italian restaurant in the heart of Merrick, this year’s officers and board of directors were reinstalled for another year of work ahead.

The Chamber welcomed back its president, Ira Reiter, its two vice presidents, Margaret Mueller and Sharon Davis, its secretary, Margaret Biegelman, and treasurer, Andrew Nachamie. Its immediate past president, Femy Aziz, and presidential advisor, Assemblyman Dave McDonough, took part in the ceremonies.

Al Belbol, the former Assistant Commissioner of Sanitation in the Town of Hempstead, known colloquially as the “Mayor of Merrick,” was honored as the Chamber’s Man of the Year. Brooke Jones and Jill Levine, both known for their extensive work within the greater Bellmore-Merrick community through several organizations, were named Women of the Year.

A Community Partnership Award, commemorating 100 years of education in the Merricks, was presented to Dominick Palma, superintendent of the Merrick School District, and Cynthia Seniuk, superintendent of the North Merrick Union Free School District.

The Chamber’s honorary advisory board includes Ilene Dixel, Erin Donohue, Susan Helsinger and Salvatore Vassalo, and its administrative assistant is Christine Mooney. The Board of Directors, including Joe Baker, Lori Berger, Marian Fraker-Gutin, Arlene Gregory, Matt Kryder, Julie Marchesella, Douglas Mills, Randy Scotland, and Nelson Tso, were all reinstalled.