WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Five Towns National Merit semifinalists named


Stella K. Abraham, Davis Renov Stahler, Hewlett, Lawrence and Rambam Mesivta high schools have students named as 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists.

Aliza Mandelbaum, a senior at SKA, is considered a “bright and motivated student,” school officials said, who is involved with the Israel Action Committee, The Looking Glass (the school newspaper), College Bowl, the math and debate teams, and dance with the school’s theater production.

Mandelbaum also tutors younger students and has taken part in Write On for Israel, NORPAC, a bipartisan, multi-candidate political action committee, the American Israel Public Affairs Committee, and the Medical Marvels and Envirothon competitions. A member of the Honor Society, she received an Honorable Mention in Toshiba Exploravision and was awarded a Gold Medal by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association for her work as editor of the school’s Holocaust Journal.

From Hewlett High School seniors Samuel Bogdanov, Bhavri Chavre, Julia Grossman and Brandon Weiss, and John Chen from Lawrence High are semifinalists.

At Davis Renov Stahler Yeshiva High School for Boys in Woodmere, Yehuda Brown, Avi Radinsky and Jacob Weissman are on the list, and at Rambam Mesivta in Lawrence,  Joseph Goldblatt and Benjamin Weiner.