WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Missy Miller honors ‘Women of Distinction’


Dr. Lisa Feit of Lawrence, Diane Mandelbaum from Cedarhurst, Cathy O’Reilly of Atlantic Beach and Inwood resident Sasha Young were among the 11 South Shore residents recognized for their community service by State Assemblywoman Melissa “Missy” Miller (R-Atlantic Beach) at her Women of Distinction Award ceremony at the Oceanside Library on Oct. 6.

Honorees also included Geri Barish of Baldwin, who is executive director of Hewlett House; Amy Dagger of Oceanside, County Legislator Denise Ford (R-Long Beach), who is running for re-election against Democrat Jeffrey Saxon; Pamela Gaynor of Island Park, Johanna Mathieson-Ellmer and Sister Jacquetta (Jackie) Odom, both from Long Beach, and Monica Pasqualino of Oceanside.

The Girl Scouts of Nassau County presented the colors for the flag ceremony and lead reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.