WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Franklin Square, Elmont budgets pass

Hansen beats Vellon, Maffea retains seat


Voters in Franklin Square and Elmont approved all three school district budgets and both library budgets by absentee ballot this year.

The Franklin Square School District’s nearly $40.2 million spending plan was approved by a vote of 2,152 to 1,056. Residents also agreed to let the school district use money it already has for capital improvements, with 2,101 votes in favor of the proposal to 1,086 against, and voted to create another reserve for building upgrades, 2,197 - 988.

Additionally, residents voted to elect Diane Hansen to the Board of Education. She beat Anthony Vellon for the seat previously held by Joseph Lewinger — who died of the coronavirus in March — 1,716 to 910, and William Leder, who ran unopposed, retained his seat with 2,016 votes.

They also voted 2,058 to 895 to approve the library’s $2.6 million budget and elect Maxine Yarczower to fill the board position previously held by Reinette Krajci, with 2,163 votes.

And in Elmont, residents approved the school district’s $94.4 million budget, 2,462 to 1,077. They also voted to re-elect Anthony Maffea to the Board of Education against challenger Simmonie Swaby, 2,055 to 1,182, and elected Tiffany Capers to fill the seat left vacant by Karen Taylor Bass, with 2,895 votes.

The community also voted 2,701 - 827 to approve the Elmont Memorial Library’s $3.37 million spending plan, and re-elect Suzanne Schatz and Livingstone Young to the library board.

Finally, the entire community passed the Sewanhaka Central High School District’s $209 million spending plan, 8,439 - 3,966.