We need your help — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Arts Council photography show winners announced


The Arts Council at Freeport held its 39th annual Juried Photography Show on June 3. This year’s juror was Jeff Harris, a New York City commercial and fine art photographer. The 39th Juried Photography Show Awards included a number of winners. Amoung them was the Best in Show’s winner Karen Celella and her photograph titled “Shattered.”

Second placed was awarded to Dawn Reilly and her titled piece, “GS + BS.” Third place featured Seymour Levy’s “Morning is Yawning.” The annual Fabian “Larry” Adler Memorial Award winner was Diana Berrent. A total of three photographers were recognized as Honorable Mentions: Kathy Lesitner, Elizabneth Nafte and Joan Weiss.

Each year, photographers of all ages submit their best photos to compete. This year over 30 photographers submitted and participated in the show. The entire show that was on exhibit throughout June will now be featured at the Kellenberg Art Gallery at Molloy College until July 31.