WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Friedberg JCC in Oceanside looks to the future


When members and guests eventually return to the Friedberg JCC in Oceanside, the facility will look different than before it closed several months ago.

To prevent the spread of Covid-19, Plexiglass has been installed at the check-in counter, as well as a machine where members can scan their cards without touching any devices. Fitness rooms have been renovated and workout equipment spread apart. Locker rooms will be off limits. Those are just a few of the upcoming changes.

At its annual meeting, held virtually on June 25, the JCC recapped a challenging year and looked ahead to the future. Also, the community center honored several staff members for their dedication.

Leadership at the JCC commended the entire staff for pivoting so quickly to a virtual format for its programming during the coronavirus pandemic. The JCC has offered hundreds of live, online programs for the community to keep everyone connected during this time.

“Our staff has shown dedication like never before,” said Board Chair Kasey Ziff, “building new programs from scratch, learning new computer programs and reaching out to members.”

Ziff also thanked members for their support “as we adjust and adapt.”

Roni Kleinman, the JCC’s executive director, echoed her sentiments. She also noted that while she is proud of what the JCC has accomplished over the last few months, they have been hard times. The organization has had to cut staff positions due to a decrease in funding from membership fees, she said. “As we move through reopening safely, we know it will not be without challenges,” she added.

The JCC then honored several staff and community members. The Community Service Award went to staff member Liz Ropers and Julie Wexler, the Director of Business Development at The Bristal Assisted Living. The Nathan and Glanz Award went to Danny Mejia and Jackie Ruiz. The organization also recognized those who have worked there for 10, 15, 20 and 25 years. Those milestone recipients were:

25 year milestone

* Chip Healy

* Ronnie Robinson

20 year milestone

* Eileen Fingerman

* Rosalie Grant

* Marcy Hallerman

* Amilcar Sandoval

* Bernard Kenner

15 year milestone

* Matilda Alduino

* Danny Mejia

* Marjorie Suntup

10 year milestone

* Wendy Katcher

* Jill Knudsen

* Virginia Morales

* Michelle Zabrocki

Lastly, Richard Fromewick inducted the 2020-21 board of directors. They are:

* Board Chair Kasey Ziff

* Immediate Past Chair Fred Richman

* Vice Chair Gila Klein

* Vice Chair Bruce Sobel

* Treasurer Allan Carlton

* Corresponding Secretary Richard Fromewick

* Trustee Glenn Fuchs

* Trustee Michelle Butler

* Trustee Henry Goldberg

* Trustee Michael Greenseid

* Trustee Gary Hisiger

* Brooke Holt

* Hy Kapito

* Lawrence Levine

* Ted Richman

“We can’t wait to welcome you back to your home away from home,” Kleinman concluded, to the members watching, “and see you all in person.”