Special district commissioner results are in

Rubenstein defeats incumbent Froehlich in Woodmere


Seven special districts, six for fire and one for water reclamation, held elections for commissioners on Dec. 10. Only one race was contested. 

Woodmere Fire District

In the only contested commissioner's race in the Five Towns, challenger Ronna Rubenstein defeated incumbent commissioner Mitch Froehlich 183-166 to earn a full-five year term. Rubenstein served as the secretary for the district for the past four years while Froehlich has served as commissioner since 2006.

 Inwood Fire District

Two incumbents ran unopposed as both Vincent Castanga and Joseph Reda were re-elected for their first full five-year terms with 32 and 44 votes, respectively. Castanga was elected commissioner in 2018, after he defeated Matthew Rizzo to serve the final year of former Commissioner Thomas Pandolfo’s unexpired term. Reda also became a commissioner in 2018.

Meadowmere Park Fire District

Incumbent Commissioner Steve McFadden ran unopposed and received 37 of 38 votes cast. The other vote was a write-in.

Lawrence North Fire District

Running unopposed, incumbent Commissioner Thomas Vairo was re-elected. He received all 13 votes cast.

Hewlett Bay Fire District

Incumbent Commissioner Daniel Weisner ran unopposed. He was re-elected for his fourth five-year term. The amount of votes cast has not yet been shared. 

Atlantic Beach Fire District

Incumbent Commissioner Nat Etrog was re-elected for his second five-year term receiving all 36 votes cast. He was first elected commissioner in 2014, when he defeated incumbent Julian Goldstein.

Greater Atlantic Beach Water Reclamation District

Running unopposed, incumbent Commissioner Arnie Geller was re-elected with 30 votes.