WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Seaford 9/11 Committee preps for 20-year remembrance


The Seaford 9/11 Memorial Committee is making its initial preparations for the tentative 2021 schedule. Next year’s events are designed to culminate in the committee’s annual Sept. 11 vigil, typically held at Seaford High School.

Sept. 11, 2021, will mark 20 years since the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in Lower Manhattan and the loss of five Seaford High School alumni as a result: Thomas Haskell (1982), Timothy Haskell (1985), John William Perry (1982), Robert Francis Sliwak (1977) and Michael Robert Wittenstein (1985).

The committee will release a collector’s item and memento near the top of the new year paying tribute to the five alumni. It will release more information on item specifics and methods of acquisition in January.

It is also tentatively looking toward its 2021 Patriots Awards Dinner. The annual dinner was canceled this year because of Covid-19, but the committee nominated five Seaford High School class of 2020 seniors to receive the honor before graduation. The award, which is accompanied by a scholarship that is made possible by funds collected by the committee, is given to students who embody the service, character and commitment of the five graduates who died on Sept. 11. This past year’s nominees were Erica Albert, Jessica Kofod, Christopher Surace, Logan Masters and Matthew Karounos.