Chamber installs board, honors members

Alan Hodish honored as Man of the Year


The East Meadow Chamber of Commerce hosted its 59th Annual Installation of Officers and Board of Directors on Jan. 24 at the Chateau Briand in Carle Place. Stephen Haller was installed as president, succeeding Dolores Rome.

Haller, who has been involved with Chamber functions for more than 35 years, previously served as a vice president. In 2012, he was honored by the Nassau Council Chambers of Commerce as the 2012 East Meadow Small Business Person of the Year.

The Chamber also honored Alan Hodish as its Man of the Year. Hodish, who has lived in East Meadow since 1977, is a past president of the Chamber and is also a former Small Business Person of the Year.

He is a graduate of C.W. Post College and St. John’s University School of Law. Hodish taught in the Hempstead School District for more than 20 years. As an assistant coach at the school, he earned two state championships in football, and two league championships in lacrosse as a head coach.

Hodish began his own law firm in 1993, The Law Office of Alan B. Hodish, LLC, in Garden City. He is the immediate past president of St. John’s University School of Law’s Alumni Association, is the founder and chairperson of the Nassau County Bar Association’s Mentor Program, and in 2012, he was honored as Long Island Business News’ “Leadership in Law Award.”

Hodish and his wife Denise have been married for 37 years, and have three children, Megan, Kristen Shapiro and Steven.

“I am very humbled and proud to have received this honor from my peers at the East Meadow Chamber of Commerce,” Hodish said. “As I told the members of the Chamber and Kiwanis, I share the award with them, they are the true Men and Women of the Year, based on all of the good work they do with the community and local businesses in East Meadow. It was a wonderful night, which I got to share with my family, friends and those that attended.”

Hodish also thanked president Stephen Haller and the Chamber for the honor.

The Chamber’s board of directors includes Mitchell Allen, Warren Kalmenson, Lyndsey Gallagher, Will Miranda, Dolores Rome, Adrian Campodonico, Nancy Darienzo, Mary Goldstein, Mary Lambroia, Andrew Langu, Christine Mooney, Frank Saracino, Bruce Serkes, Mitchell Skoller, Dominic Tinnerello and Douglas Wood.