Hewlett lacrosse recaptures the Seawane Cup


A trophy that was in possession of the Lynbrook High School Owls boys’ lacrosse team for several years was wrested away by neighborhood rival Hewlett High after an 8-3 victory by the Bulldogs on March 28 at Lynbrook.

Ethan Cohen and Johnny Miller each scored two goals and Alex Vardaro added a goal and dished out six assists. Robert Levitz won 87 percent of his faceoffs and in the win.

Before this Hewlett last won the cup in 2012, according to coach Jesse Corben. The Bulldogs also won it in 2005 and 2006.

—Jeffrey Bessen