WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Kathleen Rice wins again in 4th Congressional District

Judy Griffin beats Brian Curran in the 21st Assembly District, Todd Kaminsky re-elected


Democratic incumbent U.S. Rep. Kathleen Rice defeated her Republican challenger Amer Benno to secure her third term representing New York’s 4th Congressional District on Tuesday.

In the 21st Assembly District, Democrat Judy Griffin defeated incumbent Republican Brian Curran, who was running for his fifth term. “I’m glad that Nassau Assembly 21 realized they could do so much better,” Griffin said.

Democrat Todd Kaminsky won his second term as state senator in the 9th District, defeating Republican Francis X. Becker Jr. “I’m excited for the opportunity to bring reform to the people of the state,” Kaminsky said.

In the 20th Assembly District, Republican Melissa Miller won a second term, defeating her challenger, Democrat Juan Vides.

Democrat Michaelle Solages defeated Republican Gonald Moncion in the 22nd Assembly District race, and will head back to Albany for her fourth term.

Democrat Gregory Meeks, who ran unopposed, will return to Washington for his 11th term in New York’s 5th Congressional District seat.