Atlantic Beach, Hewlett Harbor and Lawrence mayors re-elected


After all the sniping, the political gamesmanship and a lawsuit, incumbent Lawrence Mayor Alex Edelman was overwhelmingly returned to office for another two-year term,   1,327 to 315, in Tuesday’s election over challenger Trustee Daniel Goldstein, who will remain on the board.

The two board seats were captured by Eli Kutner (1,072 votes) and Paris Popack (1,001), who ran with Edelman. The other trustee candidates were Joel M. Preminger (338), incumbent Uri Kaufman (330), Bruce Backman (212 and J. Lawrence Kolodny (191) . The term is two years.

Village Justice Gary Mandel won his first four-year term with 1,096 votes. His opponent Shrage Rokosz had 176.

Along with the record field of 10 candidates, Tuesday’s Lawrence election turnout was the highest in many years, according to officials. The line to vote was out the doors of the Lawrence Yacht & Country Club clubhouse, and up to 200 people were waiting to vote at 9 p.m. when the polls closed, and voting was not completed until nearly 10 p.m.

Eleven candidates vied for six board seats in Atlantic Beach and Hewlett Harbor. The six incumbents won. All terms are two years with the exception of Cedarhurst, which has four-year terms.

Incumbent Atlantic Beach Mayor George Pappas defeated his predecessor Stephen R. Mahler by a vote count of 314 to 213. Incumbent Trustees Linda Baessler and Edward Sullivan won re-election with 301 and 280 votes, respectively. Challenger Danielle Struss received 240 votes.

In Hewlett Harbor,  the incumbents won as Mayor Mark Weiss defeated challenger Ron Austin 427 to 266. Trustees  Thomas Cohen and Ken Kornblau collected 428 and 425 votes, respectively, to overcome  Kim Volman (265) and David Mosayov (259).

Cedarhurst Trustees Dan Plaut and Myrna Zisman both ran unopposed and were reelected to four-year terms. Plaut received 218 votes and Zisman received 215.

In Hewlett Bay Park, incumbent Mayor Steven Kaufman and Trustee Gail Rubel won re-election with 87 and 82 votes. Trustee candidate Dr. Antonio Oliviero also was elected with 75 votes. Oliviero succeeds trustee Joel Schinder, who stepped down. There were two write-in votes for Stella Gershfeld.

Ross Epstein, mayor of Hewlett Neck, and incumbent trustees Aron Schnell and Steven Hochberg were each re-elected with 39, 38 and 37 votes, respectively.

Woodsburgh Trustee Carl Cayne (9) won his ninth term. David Perl (11) was elected to his first term, replacing incumbent trustee Barry Platnick, who stepped down.

Lawrence resident Frank Argento and Avi Fertig, of Woodmere, were re-elected and elected, respectively, as commissioners of Sanitary District 1.

Updated numbers for Lawrence reflect an official recanvassing.