WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Carey H.S. Seniors Awards Night


H. Frank Carey High School honored 132 seniors for their academics, community involvement, and/or their personal qualities during its recent annual Senior Awards Night.

The event was organized by the Pupil Personnel Services Department under the direction of chair, Danielle Amato and included the following awards:

 Frank Cosgrove Memorial Scholarship: Edward Cosgrove

 Ronny Kloepfer Memorial Scholarship: Casey Kloepfer

 Paul Tritschler Memorial Scholarship: Matthew Carratu

 Thomas Hetzel Memorial Scholarship: William Berninger

 Mary Corvino Character Award: Michael De Leo

 Morton Civic Association Achievement Award: Anthony Lucito and Alyssa Petrancosta

 Edward Isseks Memorial Scholarship: Liam O’Grady

 Lorraine H. Wright Memorial Scholarship: Antonella Gisonda and Angela Kellett

 Thomas Cody Memorial Award: Brianne Cuomo and Joseph Nicoletti.

 Anthony Calia Memorial Scholarship: William Berninger and Mikayla Morfesi

 H. Frank Carey Jeffrey Brous Memorial Scholarship: William Berninger.

 Jeffrey Brous Memorial Alumni Scholarship: Samara Khan and Noah Piciullo

 Etta Schneiderman Memorial Scholarship: Julia Carazzo

Additional awards given were the Brian Zaratzian Mentor Scholarship to Francesca Cozza, Kacie Candela, Maria Gargiulo, John Heyer, Marina Testani and Jenna Turato and the HS Blood Drive Scholarship given to Julia Carazzo, Jessica Sorrentino and Jenna Turato. Principal Valerie Angelillo also presented medals to the 2014-15 scholar athletes and the Class of 2015 Commencement Scholars.