Franklin Square 2024-25 school budget passes


The $50.2 million Franklin Square school district budget passed with 1372 voters in favor and 449 voters against on May 21.

Domenico Ciaccio and Anna McCombs were elected to Franklin Square education board, with 1037 and 853 votes respectively.

There were three more challengers for education board on the ballot.

Incumbent Helen Hoffman received 767 votes, incumbent Diane Hansen received 614 votes and newcomer Daniel Donoghue received 343 votes for Franklin Square education board.

Propositions three and four passed.

The Franklin Square 2024-25 budget will expand extracurricular clubs as well as the Scope program and continue the district’s low class size goal.

Capital improvements in the budget include increased air conditioning in school buildings, upgraded sound systems in the schools’ gymnasiums, additional security cameras and repairs to school building exterior doors.