This Women's History Month: Honoring these remarkable hometown women from Valley Stream to Elmont


Just in time for Women’s History Month, the 10th annual Women of Distinction Ceremony made its triumphant return earlier this month after a Covid-19 hiatus.

Started by Assemblywoman Michaelle Solages, the yearly awards ceremony celebrates the contributions, acts of outstanding leadership, and grassroots work of women in Solages’ 22nd Assembly District, covering Valley Stream.

The event was held at Sewanhaka High School where dozens of recipients’ loved ones gathered to congratulate the inspiring 12 female honorees and thank them for their community efforts.

Some of this year’s honorees included Angelica Caggiano, Savitre Ferdinand, Zeola Mitchell-Hall, Shadma Ibrahim, Lynn Pombonyo, Maribel Canestro and Mamie Eng.