Honoring remarkable women in the Elmont and Franklin Square community


Just in time for Women’s History month, the 10th annual Women of Distinction Ceremony made its triumphant return to the month of March after a Covid-19 hiatus.

Started by Assemblywoman Michaelle Solages, the yearly awards event celebrates the contributions, acts of outstanding leadership, and highlighted the grassroots work of women in Solages’ 22nd Assembly District.

The event was held at Sewanhaka High School where dozens of recipients’ loved ones gathered to congratulate the inspiring 12 female honorees and thank them for their community efforts.

Some of this year’s honorees included Angelica Caggiano, Savitre Ferdinand, Zeola Mitchell-Hall, Shadma Ibrahim, Lynn Pombonyo, Miguerlande Cayo Maitre and Mamie Eng.