Educators celebrate tenure with Franklin Square Board of Education


Five educators in the Franklin Square school district were recognized for achieving tenure this year.

Educators recognized were Special Education Teacher Gregg Steinberg, Second Grade Teacher Jacqueline Occhino-Welsh, Special Education Teacher Michelle Rocco-Ciliotta, Reading Teacher Lauren Falkenhainer, and Special Education Teacher Gabriella Constantino.

An initial celebration to recognize their achievements was postponed from earlier in the summer because of wildfire smoke that wafted down to Long Island from Canada.

“Tenure is not merely a right of passage,” said Jared Bloom, superintendent of the Franklin Square school district.

Bloom said to achieve this distinction, teachers undergo rigorous training, face consistent evaluations throughout the academic year, fulfill the mandated continuing teaching and education hours, and typically complete a minimum of four years in a district unless they have been credited for prior service.

“Individuals being recognized tonight are not only passionate about teaching and learning, but are also problem solvers — lifelong learners,” Bloom said. “Deeply committed to their students and actively involved in our school community.”