WE NEED YOUR HELP — Support your hometown newspaper by making a donation.

Heralds earn top honors in Press of Long Island's Media Awards


Herald Community Newspapers editors and reporters came up big in the Press Club of Long Island’s annual Media Awards, which were handed out Thursday at the Woodbury Country Club.

The Herald entered nine categories and won in seven, competing head to head with newspapers from across Long Island, including Newsday. The Heralds’ winners included:

Tony Rifilato and Bridget Downes: Robert W. Greene Public Service Award

Zachary Gottehrer-Cohen: Cub Reporter of the Year

Peter Belfiore, Scott Brinton and Ben Strack:

First Place, Breaking News

Erik Hawkins: First Place, In-Depth Reporting

Mike Smollins: First Place, Neighborhood News

Jeff Bessen, Scott Brinton, Erik Hawkins, Nadya Nataly and Ben Strack: Second Place, Education Reporting

Long Beach Herald, Second Place, Community Newspaper of the Year; Rockville Centre Herald, Third Place.

Additionally, Brinton, the Heralds’ executive editor, was elected to a three-year term as president of the Press Club. He was previously a board member and the organization’s vice president.